What is the difference between deactivating and deleting a Workplace account?
Change platform:Computer Help
When you deactivate a person's account:
- Posts, comments and messages the person made before the deactivation will still be available to coworkers. This means group and event conversations won't be disrupted and any content that is dependent on the deleted account will not be deleted.
- Deactivating a person's account will still log them out of every Workplace session and prevent them from accessing Workplace.
When you delete a person's account:
- Their coworkers won't be able to see the account on Workplace.
- It may take up to 90 days to delete everything the person has posted, like photos, posts or other data stored in backup systems.
- Any content from other users that is dependent on the deleted users' content (example: comments on the deleted users' posts) will also be deleted.
- While this information is being deleted, it's inaccessible to other people using Workplace.
- Some of the things people do on Workplace aren’t stored in their accounts. For example, a coworker may still have messages from the deleted person even after their account is deleted.
Note: It may take up to 24 hours for the deactivation of a user account to take effect.