How do I deactivate a person’s Workplace account?
Change platform:Computer Help
You must be a system admin to deactivate a person's Workplace account.
If a person has left the company, you can deactivate their account to eliminate their access to Workplace. The posts, comments and messages the person made before you deactivate their account will still be available.
To deactivate a person's Workplace account:
- From your News Feed, click Admin Panel in the left menu.
- Click People.
- Click next to the person you want to deactivate and select Deactivate Account.
- Click Confirm.
How long does it take for a deactivated user to be removed?
Admin deactivates a user.
Deactivation takes effect after 24 hours.
The removal process begins.
4 days pass.
After 4 days, group memberships are automatically removed and cannot be restored.
The user is now deactivated and removed from Workplace.
It may take up to 24 hours for the deactivation of a user account to take effect. Deactivating a person's Workplace account will log them out of every Workplace session and prevent them from accessing Workplace.
After 4 days, we will automatically remove group memberships. If the deactivated account is reactivated within 4 days, all group membership and chat membership will be retained. Beyond 4 days, it will not be possible to restore group or chat membership.