How do I delete a person's Workplace account?
Change platform:Computer Help
Workplace system admins can only delete user accounts which have either never been claimed or are currently deactivated. Admins must wait 24 hours after resetting their passwords before deleting a claimed user. If you want to remove access to a user account but don't want to delete their data, you should deactivate the account rather than delete it.
What happens when you delete a user account
If you delete a user account, be aware that:
- This action cannot be undone.
- The user will no longer be able to log into Workplace.
- You will not see them in the People section of the Admin Panel.
- Posts, comments and messages will be permanently deleted.
- Your coworkers won't be able to see the account on Workplace.
- It may take up to 90 days for all of the user's interactions to be deleted.
- Any content from other users that is dependent on the deleted users' content (example: comments on the deleted users' posts) will also be deleted.
- While we're deleting this information, it will be inaccessible to other people using Workplace.
- Some of the things people do on Workplace aren’t stored in their accounts. For example, a coworker may still have messages from a deleted account even after it's been deleted.
- Users will be forced out of groups and their admin privileges will be lost. Keep in mind that if you choose to reactivate the user account within 14 days of deletion, their admin privileges will be restored.
Deleting an account
To delete a deactivated employee's Workplace account:
- From your News Feed, click Admin Panel in the left menu.
- Click People.
- Click next to the name of the employee whose account you'd like to delete.
- Click Delete Account.
- Click Confirm.